MODERN PATHOLOGY

In 2012 the MVZ (Medical Care Centre) was expanded to include the field of pathology. Under the direction of Dr. med. Cordula Nordhoff, tissue samples from a wide variety of disciplines are processed daily, especially in the areas of gynaecology, gastro- and dermapathology.

The department is completed by Dr. med. Irina Sitnow, Prof. Dr. med. Heinz-Joachim Radzun and Prof. Dr. med. Ekkehard Kunze, former C3 professor and head of the pathology department at the University of Göttingen.

All tissue samples are processed with the most modern technology. The evaluation is initially carried out macroscopically. On the basis of this macroscopy, the pathologist decides which areas of the tissue present are to be prepared for further processing. Small tissue samples are always completely processed in our institute.

Histological examination is performed for any changes of unclear cause. The certainty whether it is a malignant or benign tumour or, for example, a specific inflammation, is decisive for further patient-oriented treatment by the specialist.

The certaintywhether it is a malignant or benign tumor or, for example, a specific inflammation is decisive for further patient-oriented treatment by the specialist.

MODERNE PATHOLOGIE

2012 wurde das MVZ um den Bereich der Pathologie erweitert. Unter der Leitung von Dr. med. Cordula Nordhoff werden täglich Gewebeproben aus unterschiedlichsten Fachrichtungen, insbesondere in den Bereichen der Gyn-, Gastro- und Dermapathologie bearbeitet.

Vervollständigt wird die Abteilung durch Dr. med. Hermann A. Gathmann und Prof. Dr. med. Ekkehard Kunze, ehemaliger C3-Professor und Abteilungsleiter der Pathologie an der Universität zu Göttingen.

Mit der modernsten Technik werden alle Gewebeproben bearbeitet. Die Begutachtung erfolgt zunächst makroskopisch. Anhand dieser Makroskopie entscheidet der Pathologe, welche Bereiche des vorliegenden Gewebes für die weitere Aufarbeitung vorbereitet werden. Kleine Gewebeproben werden in unserem Institut immer vollständig aufgearbeitet.

Histologisch untersucht werden alle Veränderungen unklarer Ursache. Die Gewissheit, ob es sich um einen bösartigen oder gutartigen Tumor oder beispielsweise um eine spezifische Entzündung handelt, ist maßgebend für die weitere patientenorientierte Behandlung durch den Facharzt.

Die Gewissheit, ob es sich um einen bösartigen oder gutartigen Tumor oder beispielsweise um eine spezifische Entzündung handelt, ist maßgebend für die weitere patientenorientierte Behandlung durch den Facharzt.